APCCMPD Scholars
APCCMPD Scholars
Community Building

Hear Drs. Diana Kelm, Hugo Carmona, David De La Zerda, and Mellissa Lesko to discuss Community building in fellowship training. Hear about strategies to enhance collaboration among trainees, staff and faculty.


Diana Kelm, MD, Mayo Clinic
Diana Kelm, MD is an Assistant Professor of Medicine, Core Faculty for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN and the Associate Program Director of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program. She received her medical degree from Texas A&M Health Science Center and completed residency, chief residency, and fellowship at Mayo Clinic. Her research is geared towards medical education with specific interests in procedural skills training, gender disparity, and interprofessoinal education. She has received several internal grants for her research. She serves on the Education Committee for the American Thoracic Society (ATS) and the Association of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Program Directors (APCCMPD). She also chairs a new working group for the ATS Section of Medical Education.

Hugo Carmona, MD, University of Washington
Hugo Carmona, MD is a clinician-educator fellow in PCCM at the University of Washington. He previously completed his medical training at Boston University School of Medicine, where he obtained his MD, and was a resident and chief resident in Internal Medicine. His education and research interests include bedside teaching and professional development through diversity in training.

David De La Zerda, MD, University of Miami
Pulmonary and Critical Care Program Director

Melissa Lesko, MD, New York University
Pulmonary and Critical Care Associate Program Director